top of page

Interview with India Arie

Growing up, I listened to her songs.

I listened to her songs so much I felt like I knew her and could sing every lyric without missing a word. I had every album and would fight to convince my siblings to get them for me whenever they travelled.

She inspired me.

Somewhere in my mind, I never saw the possibility of meeting her to be a thing. Even when I had come to America, I was slightly hopeful to even catch her, if she came to Boston.

My heart sank when I couldn't even attend her concert sometime in 2016 due to having prior arrangements, but something in me kept the hope that someday I would meet this person.

No one prepares you for that moment.

A few moments and a few security checks later, I heard the doors open and, clad in a beautiful poncho of a mix of blue, white and yellow, she ambled in an stood right under the LED light that bathed her in a yellow glow.

I nearly died of quiet excitement! She prepared herself but barely spoke and I was pushed to approach her- but you can't imagine how shy I was.

I overheard her speaking about jewelry and somehow weaved my way into the conversation by introducing myself and before I knew it, she was claiming the jewelry I was wearing (made by a Kenyan tribe known as the Maasai).

Shortly after, we approached the stage, and I was introduced by the wonderful Tim Hall. We had never planned that I would introduce her but here I was, in a room so full people sat on the carpet till the very edge of the stage.

And she meandered smoothly onto stage and there was so much cheer, I felt the fan-girl in me start to want to come out.

But here I was, about to speak to someone I had listened to for the better part of my young years and I knew that I had to put that down and be in the very moment and soak up and in, what was being shared in that space.

Her words were healing to many; truth to those hoping to embark on their journey with the music industry and enlightening for those who needed another perspective from our daily dose of tabloid or mainstream coverage.

She spoke on her songwriting process and how important it is to care for yourself and not compromise on who you are.

She shared her heart with us and even sung with us, bursting into tears when the whole room sang along with her to her song "I Am Light".

It was unforgettable.

There is nothing like finding the truth of one's character, when you meet them and it radiates from their person.

And in one hour of meeting her, she shared and was gone to prepare for the MLK Memorial week Performance, later that night.

To quote ms. India, "life always comes full circle".

I realize now more than ever, you never may know what you're preparing for in the simple things that are second-nature to you.

LATEST NEWS
NEWS BY DATE
TAGS
No tags yet.
bottom of page